Question: What Is The New Ofsted Inspection Framework?

What can trigger an Ofsted inspection?

Ofsted inspections are triggered differently if you’re a ‘new’ or established school….Then, they consider each case based on:The outcomes of any inspections carried out since the last routine inspection.Qualifying complaints by parents.Statutory warning notices.Any other significant concerns..

You must: make sure your premises and equipment are safe and suitable for childcare. make sure that no-one can enter the premises without the knowledge of someone looking after children. have a suitable place to prepare food, if you provide it; any food you provide must be properly prepared, wholesome and nutritious.

What is the new Ofsted framework?

As governors will be well aware, Ofsted published a new inspection framework which has formed the basis of inspections since September. The new framework brings with it a number of changes: Outstanding schools are no longer exempt from inspections. Section 8 inspections will now last two days.

What are the 4 Ofsted categories?

Currently, there are four overall judgements that Ofsted can reach about schools: Outstanding; Good; Requires Improvement; and Inadequate.

What does the new Ofsted framework say about reading?

In 2019, Ofsted made “how children are taught to read” a priority for inspections in schools. Under the new EIF, all “infant, junior, primary and lower-middle schools” will undergo a reading ‘deep dive. ‘ This is mandatory and includes phonics!

What are the 3 is Ofsted?

They unpick the new guidance from Ofsted, centring on curriculum intent, implementation and impact: the essential ‘three Is’ that all schools need to be able to plan for and articulate. … They also describe how schools can achieve the ‘three Is’ using the Cornerstones Curriculum.

What are the 3 I’s in childcare?

What are the three ‘I’s?Intent.Implementation.Impact.

What do Ofsted inspectors look for?

In schools, inspectors will look at how a school contributes to pupils’ broader development, including development of their character, good citizenship skills and resilience.

What are three I’s?

Intent, Implementation and Impact: how does your school’s curriculum score on the three ‘I’s? … To save yourself you must jettison your precious cargo – a stash of books from each Curriculum subject.

What are the 3 main functions of Ofsted?

What is OFSTED? | Educational StandardsThe inspection and regulation of educational institutions including independent schools, state schools, academies and childcare facilities.The inspection of agencies responsible for adoption, fostering and other social care services.The inspection of other services for children and young people.More items…•

What are the main changes in the new Ofsted framework?

Change 1: New judgement – Quality of education Perhaps the biggest change to the new framework is the introduction of the new judgement Quality of education. This new judgement combines the Teaching, learning & assessment and Outcomes judgements which were present under the the previous EIF.

What is the new common inspection framework?

The common inspection framework (‘the framework’) is designed to bring together the inspection of different education, skills and early years settings to provide greater coherence across different providers that cater for similar age ranges. … It supports greater consistency across the inspection of different remits.